This culture was at its peak from about 5,000 BCE to 3,000 BCE. Their mythology/religion was based on the seven Rishis (word means "to shine") who were seven ancient sages and who have their place in the heavens, in the constellation Ursa Major.

The Hindu zodiac has twelve signs, but the sky is divided into twenty-eight equal parts called Lunar Mansions. Each Mansion corresponds to the twenty-eight day cycle of the moon, which makes the lunar cycle the basis of Hindu, also called Eastern Astrology, which is why often you will hear of the Eastern world being referred to as children of the moon and the Western world, as children of the sun.

In Eastern astrology is the concept of Karma, which is absent in Western astrology. This doctrine of karma and reincarnation is the journey of the soul through a series of lives. Partly the use of astrology is to find out at what stage the soul is at in development. Karma is based on the acts performed and actions not taken in previous lives, their impact on the current life and the actions taken and not taken in this life and the influence they may have on the next life.

Today, there is a movement within Western astrology to use karma and reincarnation within the delineation of a natal chart. The nodes of the moon, sign and placement, Pluto, retrograde planets--there are several ways in which it is being delineated.

The Hindu Zodiac as they correlate to the Western Zodiac:

Western Tropical-----------------Hindu Tropical













 Go to next page: Babylonain Astrology

 Go back to Brief History of Astrology

 Go to Avalon Enterprises Home Page